M. B. Ingersoll

KSFO Pack the Pattern 07 FEB 2013

Well, you'll have to excuse me for starting a topic - especially since this is my first time on the forum. But I didn't see this topic and I just HAD to make a comment or two about it. If newbies starting topics about events is a violation of protocol, ground me!

But, as I said, I felt like I had to say something here. Tonight was my first BVA event AND it was my first flight with BVA. A few years back when I saw a demo of FSX and bought a copy, I was ambivalent about the online ATC. Frankly, it wasn't that impressive to me. Then some time later, I found VATSIM and was very pleased with that. Meanwhile, I saw BVA sessions on GameSpy - ooo, supersecret... you gotta join. Well, I just never took the time to investigate it. VATSIM was cool and I did some time on FS-MP, as well.

But seeing BVA mentioned on FSXBeyoneGameSpy, I got curious and started reading. I was impressed with the high standards outlined in the material and joined. And, as I said, tonight was my maiden voyage. I had a great time. IFR from STS down to SFO, couple of ILS 28Rs and flight following back to STS. Great phraseology all around. Even had a NORDO Cessna heading out of SFO opposite direction when I was on final. NORCAL called him - I got him in sight - they gave me maneuvering room if I needed it. Kept me until we passed then switched me to tower. Exactly the right thing to do.

Yeah... I'm impressed.

----M B Ingersoll

----FAA Retired

----ZFW 1984-2008

----USAF 1973-1983

Welcome, welcome! Glad to see that you had a positive first experience. Things can be a little strange when a maiden BVA flight happens outside of our preferred airspace but it doesn't sound like that was the case for you.