David Cross

CTP East Question

So this year I am going to fly this event. I have never done an Oceanic Flight Before. I'm reading up on all the procedures etc... 

I'm otherwise very versed with domestic ATC.  My question is this. I know on Vatsim Broken flights are okay. Meaning, I can file the FP, take off, get to say Cruise altitude and let the controller know I'm signing off of the network.  This would be for a long Domestic Flight.  So then, as I get close to my Top of Descent, I would Re-File the flight plan, sign back on the network and have ATC again for my arrival.  This method allows me to fly long distance but not have to sit at the computer for hours as physically, I'm disabled and just unable to maintain a seated position at my computer for more than 2 hours without a break of some sort. Is this okay to do during CTP?   I'm still learning about the check in coordinates during the route of flight.  So maybe staying on-line would be okay, as long as I reach out to ATC during those check in Fix's? Or does ATC reach out to us? Like I will have to be able to monitor the radio the entire time? Vatsim is very good at accommodating People with disabilities. So what would be my best coarse of action? I know I can at least handle the departure portion of the flight and hang in there for a few hours. Just not the entire trip... Either way, I'm going to finish the flight. On or off line. : )  

Thanks for any ideas's as I'm sure I'm not the only one with this question. : ) 

Dave. 

David Cross

FDX3171 OR N1399

My very strong suggestion is that if you cannot do the entire flight online, in attendance, DO NOT sign up for a slot and preclude someone who can actually meet the requirements of the event (which is indeed to be in attendance throughout, with allowances for short, say 5-15 minute breaks, IF approved by ATC, in the middle of the flight).